GuardVault is available on the App Store
All comparisons

GuardVault vs Obscura Photo Vault

Passwords, encrypted exports and no reset: a different recovery model.

Feature sources checked on

The key difference

Obscura says it cannot reset a forgotten password. GuardVault provides recovery words to keep. Both require preparing file copies; choose the recovery routine you can actually maintain.

01 / Features

The differences, side by side.

Storage, access and recovery differences to consider before choosing.

Features described in official sources; apps have not been independently tested.

GuardVault vs Obscura Photo Vault — Features
What mattersGuardVaultObscura Photo Vault
File encryption
YesOn device[1]
YesAES-256-GCM stated[2]
Pattern unlock
YesOne pattern per vault[1]
Not specifiedPassword / biometrics[2]
Use without a developer account
YesApple Account for iCloud[1]
Yes[2]
Multiple separate vaults
Yes3 free vaults[1]
PaidPremium[2]
Photos and videos
Yes[1]
Yes[2]
Document import
Yes[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Cloud backup
YesiCloud, opt-in[1]
VariesVia iPhone backup[2]
Recovery phrase
Yes24 words + backup[1]
NoNo password reset[2]
Vault or album sharing
PaidRead-only · Premium[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Duress mode
PaidPremium[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Free download
Yes3 free vaults[1]
Yes1 vault · 50 photos[2]
YesNoPaidVariesNot specified

A check means the developer describes the feature. “Not specified” does not mean “unavailable”. Words restore a key, not lost files. A copy of the files is still needed.

02 / Compare prices

Pricing, clearly explained.

U.S. prices checked on October 31, 2026. Selected public offers, excluding personalized promotions. Prices and eligibility may vary; check Apple’s purchase screen.

GuardVault

United States · USD

Free

$0

3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.

Encrypted backup included

No app-imposed vault or file quotas, read-only sharing, iCloud sync and duress mode. Device and iCloud storage limits still apply.

Weekly Premium

$1.99/ week

Yearly Premium

$19.99/ year

Lifetime

$39.99one-time payment

See official offers

Obscura Photo Vault

United States · USD

Free

$0

1 vault and up to 50 photos; encrypted export included.

Photos, videos and vaults without app quotas.

Monthly Premium

$6.99/ month

Yearly Premium

$29.99/ year

Lifetime

$39.99one-time payment

See official offers

Subscriptions renew unless canceled. Lifetime purchases do not renew.

Read the details and sources

Vault access

GuardVaultA pattern per vault; no global list on the unlock screen.[1]

Obscura Photo VaultPassword per vault; Face ID and Touch ID listed.[2]

Account requirement

GuardVaultNo GuardVault account. Apple Account for iCloud.[1]

Obscura Photo VaultNo account or email.[2]

Stated protection

GuardVaultEncrypted vaults on the device, per the App Store listing.[1]

Obscura Photo VaultStates AES-256-GCM; public ObscuraCrypto component.[2]

Backup and cloud

GuardVaultOpt-in encrypted iCloud backup or exported archive. Included free.[1]

Obscura Photo VaultEncrypted .obscura export; FAQ says data is included in iPhone iCloud Backup by default.[2]

Recovery

GuardVault24 words. After uninstalling, a saved copy is also required.[1]

Obscura Photo VaultNo forgotten-password reset, according to the developer.[2]

Free tier and limits

GuardVault3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.[1]

Obscura Photo Vault1 vault and up to 50 photos; encrypted export included.[2]

The right choice depends on your needs.

Why consider GuardVault

To keep photos, videos, documents and notes in pattern-accessed vaults without a GuardVault account. Encrypted backup is included free and you choose whether to enable it.

Read our security approach

Also consider : Obscura Photo Vault

Obscura publishes its encryption component and includes photo editing tools. Encrypted export may suit manual backup management. Public code is not a substitute for an audit.

Official sources

GuardVault · 2026-10-30

Sources. Clear limits.

These comparisons are published by Dealing With, the publisher of GuardVault. They use developers’ public descriptions, not independent audits or security testing of the apps.

Unspecified information does not mean a feature is absent. Versions, plans and prices can change; check your local purchase screen before paying. Referenced trademarks belong to their owners.

  1. GuardVault · App Store US
  2. Obscura Photo Vault · features, pricing and FAQ
  3. Obscura Photo Vault · App Store US
Our editorial approach

Choose with a method

Use a few disposable files to check importing, exporting and recovery before moving your originals.

How to choose an iPhone photo vault: 6 checks

Your private space starts here.

Start free with 3 vaults. Premium is optional.

Try the pattern