GuardVault is available on the App Store
All comparisons

GuardVault vs Keepsafe

Keepsafe uses an email account and private cloud; GuardVault offers opt-in iCloud backup.

Feature sources checked on

The key difference

Recovery is a key choice: Keepsafe documents codes sent to the account email. GuardVault uses words you keep yourself. In both cases, lost files require an available copy.

01 / Features

The differences, side by side.

Storage, access and recovery differences to consider before choosing.

Features described in official sources; apps have not been independently tested.

GuardVault vs Keepsafe — Features
What mattersGuardVaultKeepsafe
File encryption
YesOn device[1]
YesAES stated[2]
Pattern unlock
YesOne pattern per vault[1]
Yes[2]
Use without a developer account
YesApple Account for iCloud[1]
NoEmail account[2]
Multiple separate vaults
Yes3 free vaults[1]
VariesAlbums[4]
Photos and videos
Yes[1]
Yes[2]
Document import
Yes[1]
Yes[4]
Cloud backup
YesiCloud, opt-in[1]
YesDeveloper’s cloud[2]
Recovery phrase
Yes24 words + backup[1]
VariesEmail recovery[2]
Vault or album sharing
PaidRead-only · Premium[1]
YesAlbums[4]
Duress mode
PaidPremium[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Free download
Yes3 free vaults[1]
Yes200 backed-up items[3]
YesNoPaidVariesNot specified

A check means the developer describes the feature. “Not specified” does not mean “unavailable”. Words restore a key, not lost files. A copy of the files is still needed.

02 / Compare prices

Pricing, clearly explained.

U.S. prices checked on October 31, 2026. Selected public offers, excluding personalized promotions. Prices and eligibility may vary; check Apple’s purchase screen.

GuardVault

United States · USD

Free

$0

3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.

Encrypted backup included

No app-imposed vault or file quotas, read-only sharing, iCloud sync and duress mode. Device and iCloud storage limits still apply.

Weekly Premium

$1.99/ week

Yearly Premium

$19.99/ year

Lifetime

$39.99one-time payment

See official offers

Keepsafe

United States · USD

Free

$0

Basic: backup for 200 items; larger quotas with Premium.

Up to 10,000 backed-up items, deleted-item recovery and Premium tools.

Monthly Premium

$9.99/ month

Yearly Premium

$23.99/ year

See official offers

Subscriptions renew unless canceled. Lifetime purchases do not renew.

Read the details and sources

Vault access

GuardVaultA pattern per vault; no global list on the unlock screen.[1]

KeepsafePIN and device-dependent biometrics; support also mentions patterns.[2]

Account requirement

GuardVaultNo GuardVault account. Apple Account for iCloud.[1]

KeepsafeAccount email used for access codes.[2]

Stated protection

GuardVaultEncrypted vaults on the device, per the App Store listing.[1]

KeepsafeStates AES 256-bit encryption at rest.[2]

Backup and cloud

GuardVaultOpt-in encrypted iCloud backup or exported archive. Included free.[1]

KeepsafeKeepsafe Private Cloud, with plan-dependent quota.[3]

Recovery

GuardVault24 words. After uninstalling, a saved copy is also required.[1]

KeepsafePIN reset via a code sent to the account email.[2]

Free tier and limits

GuardVault3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.[1]

KeepsafeBasic: backup for 200 items; larger quotas with Premium.[3]

The right choice depends on your needs.

Why consider GuardVault

To keep photos, videos, documents and notes in pattern-accessed vaults without a GuardVault account. Encrypted backup is included free and you choose whether to enable it.

Read our security approach

Also consider : Keepsafe

Keepsafe may fit if you want email-based account recovery and its cloud service. Check how many items are actually backed up, especially on Basic.

Official sources

GuardVault · 2026-10-30

Sources. Clear limits.

These comparisons are published by Dealing With, the publisher of GuardVault. They use developers’ public descriptions, not independent audits or security testing of the apps.

Unspecified information does not mean a feature is absent. Versions, plans and prices can change; check your local purchase screen before paying. Referenced trademarks belong to their owners.

  1. GuardVault · App Store US
  2. Keepsafe · How does Keepsafe protect my data?
  3. Keepsafe · Subscriptions
  4. Keepsafe · Photo Vault
  5. Keepsafe · App Store US
Our editorial approach

Choose with a method

Use a few disposable files to check importing, exporting and recovery before moving your originals.

How to choose an iPhone photo vault: 6 checks

Your private space starts here.

Start free with 3 vaults. Premium is optional.

Try the pattern