GuardVault is available on the App Store
All comparisons

GuardVault vs Encamera

An encrypted camera and albums, compared with a vault for photos, documents and notes.

Feature sources checked on

The key difference

Encamera centres on encrypted capture and albums. GuardVault presents a broader file library. Start with the task: capturing images or gathering different file types.

01 / Features

The differences, side by side.

Storage, access and recovery differences to consider before choosing.

Features described in official sources; apps have not been independently tested.

GuardVault vs Encamera — Features
What mattersGuardVaultEncamera
File encryption
YesOn device[1]
YesOn device[2]
Pattern unlock
YesOne pattern per vault[1]
Not specifiedPassword / biometrics[2]
Use without a developer account
YesApple Account for iCloud[1]
Yes[2]
Multiple separate vaults
Yes3 free vaults[1]
VariesAlbums[2]
Photos and videos
Yes[1]
Yes[2]
Document import
Yes[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Cloud backup
YesiCloud, opt-in[1]
YesiCloud, opt-in[2]
Recovery phrase
Yes24 words + backup[1]
Yes10 words + backup[4]
Vault or album sharing
PaidRead-only · Premium[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Duress mode
PaidPremium[1]
Not specifiedNot specified[2]
Free download
Yes3 free vaults[1]
YesLimits vary by plan[5]
YesNoPaidVariesNot specified

A check means the developer describes the feature. “Not specified” does not mean “unavailable”. Words restore a key, not lost files. A copy of the files is still needed.

02 / Compare prices

Pricing, clearly explained.

U.S. prices checked on October 31, 2026. Selected public offers, excluding personalized promotions. Prices and eligibility may vary; check Apple’s purchase screen.

GuardVault

United States · USD

Free

$0

3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.

Encrypted backup included

No app-imposed vault or file quotas, read-only sharing, iCloud sync and duress mode. Device and iCloud storage limits still apply.

Weekly Premium

$1.99/ week

Yearly Premium

$19.99/ year

Lifetime

$39.99one-time payment

See official offers

Encamera

United States · USD

Download

$0

Subscriptions mentioned; check free quotas in the app.

Check plan limits in the app.

Weekly Premium

$1.99/ week

Monthly Premium

$2.99 – $3.99/ month

Several prices are listed for this duration. The available offer depends on the purchase screen.

Yearly Premium

$17.99 – $19.99/ year

Several prices are listed for this duration. The available offer depends on the purchase screen.

“Limited Lifetime”

$49.99one-time payment

A separate limited-scope offer; check future upgrade conditions.

Lifetime

$99.99one-time payment

See official offers

Subscriptions renew unless canceled. Lifetime purchases do not renew.

Read the details and sources

Vault access

GuardVaultA pattern per vault; no global list on the unlock screen.[1]

EncameraPassword, PIN or Face ID listed.[2]

Account requirement

GuardVaultNo GuardVault account. Apple Account for iCloud.[1]

EncameraWebsite says no account is required to start.[2]

Stated protection

GuardVaultEncrypted vaults on the device, per the App Store listing.[1]

EncameraStates photo and video encryption; privacy policy names AES-256.[3]

Backup and cloud

GuardVaultOpt-in encrypted iCloud backup or exported archive. Included free.[1]

EncameraLocal storage or your iCloud, by choice.[2][3]

Recovery

GuardVault24 words. After uninstalling, a saved copy is also required.[1]

EncameraKeep the 10-word phrase; optional iCloud key backup. Files also need a backup.[4]

Free tier and limits

GuardVault3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.[1]

EncameraSubscriptions mentioned; check free quotas in the app.[3]

The right choice depends on your needs.

Why consider GuardVault

To keep photos, videos, documents and notes in pattern-accessed vaults without a GuardVault account. Encrypted backup is included free and you choose whether to enable it.

Read our security approach

Also consider : Encamera

Encamera may suit taking photos directly into encrypted storage. Its policy also describes usage analytics and RevenueCat. Check recovery and plan limits in the app before entrusting it with your only files.

Official sources

GuardVault · 2026-10-30

Sources. Clear limits.

These comparisons are published by Dealing With, the publisher of GuardVault. They use developers’ public descriptions, not independent audits or security testing of the apps.

Unspecified information does not mean a feature is absent. Versions, plans and prices can change; check your local purchase screen before paying. Referenced trademarks belong to their owners.

  1. GuardVault · App Store US
  2. Encamera · features
  3. Encamera · privacy policy
  4. Encamera · Back Up Your Key Phrase
  5. Encamera · App Store US
Our editorial approach

Choose with a method

Use a few disposable files to check importing, exporting and recovery before moving your originals.

How to choose an iPhone photo vault: 6 checks

Your private space starts here.

Start free with 3 vaults. Premium is optional.

Try the pattern