GuardVault is available on the App Store
All comparisons

GuardVault vs Apple Photos

The built-in Hidden album or a separate app for photos and documents.

Feature sources checked on

The key difference

The Hidden album may be enough to remove photos from the main view. GuardVault provides a separate space with pattern access and document support. These are different workflows, not proof of stronger cryptography.

01 / Features

The differences, side by side.

Storage, access and recovery differences to consider before choosing.

Features described in official sources; apps have not been independently tested.

GuardVault vs Apple Photos — Features
What mattersGuardVaultApple Photos
File encryption
YesOn device[1]
VariesiOS / iCloud protection[3]
Pattern unlock
YesOne pattern per vault[1]
NoFace ID / iPhone passcode[2]
Use without a developer account
YesApple Account for iCloud[1]
YesApple Account for iCloud[2]
Multiple separate vaults
Yes3 free vaults[1]
NoOne Hidden album[2]
Photos and videos
Yes[1]
Yes[2]
Document import
Yes[1]
NoPhotos and videos[2]
Cloud backup
YesiCloud, opt-in[1]
YesiCloud Photos[2]
Recovery phrase
Yes24 words + backup[1]
VariesApple Account recovery[3]
Vault or album sharing
PaidRead-only · Premium[1]
NoOne Hidden album[2]
Duress mode
PaidPremium[1]
No[2]
Free download
Yes3 free vaults[1]
YesBuilt into iOS[2]
YesNoPaidVariesNot specified

A check means the developer describes the feature. “Not specified” does not mean “unavailable”. Words restore a key, not lost files. A copy of the files is still needed.

02 / Compare prices

Pricing, clearly explained.

U.S. prices checked on October 31, 2026. Selected public offers, excluding personalized promotions. Prices and eligibility may vary; check Apple’s purchase screen.

GuardVault

United States · USD

Free

$0

3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.

Encrypted backup included

No app-imposed vault or file quotas, read-only sharing, iCloud sync and duress mode. Device and iCloud storage limits still apply.

Weekly Premium

$1.99/ week

Yearly Premium

$19.99/ year

Lifetime

$39.99one-time payment

See official offers

Apple Photos

United States · USD

Free

$0

Photos included; 5 GB free iCloud shared with other data.

Optional iCloud+ storage, separate from locking the Hidden album.

iCloud+ 50 GB

$0.99/ month

iCloud+ 200 GB

$2.99/ month

iCloud+ 2 TB

$9.99/ month

See official offers

Subscriptions renew unless canceled. Lifetime purchases do not renew.

Read the details and sources

Vault access

GuardVaultA pattern per vault; no global list on the unlock screen.[1]

Apple PhotosHidden album locked by default since iOS 16; authentication to open.[2]

Account requirement

GuardVaultNo GuardVault account. Apple Account for iCloud.[1]

Apple PhotosNo separate app account. Apple Account for iCloud Photos.[2][3]

Stated protection

GuardVaultEncrypted vaults on the device, per the App Store listing.[1]

Apple PhotosAlbum authentication. iCloud protection depends on settings, not on hiding alone.[2][3]

Backup and cloud

GuardVaultOpt-in encrypted iCloud backup or exported archive. Included free.[1]

Apple PhotosWith iCloud Photos enabled, hidden items are hidden on other devices too.[2]

Recovery

GuardVault24 words. After uninstalling, a saved copy is also required.[1]

Apple PhotosDepends on available copies and Apple Account recovery methods.[3]

Free tier and limits

GuardVault3 vaults; per vault: 100 photos, 10 videos and 50 documents.[1]

Apple PhotosBuilt into Photos. Device and iCloud storage remain limited.[2][3]

The right choice depends on your needs.

Why consider GuardVault

To keep photos, videos, documents and notes in pattern-accessed vaults without a GuardVault account. Encrypted backup is included free and you choose whether to enable it.

Read our security approach

Also consider : Apple Photos

Apple Photos may suffice for photos and videos within the Apple ecosystem. Check the album authentication and iCloud Photos settings before adding another app.

Official sources

GuardVault · 2026-10-30

Sources. Clear limits.

These comparisons are published by Dealing With, the publisher of GuardVault. They use developers’ public descriptions, not independent audits or security testing of the apps.

Unspecified information does not mean a feature is absent. Versions, plans and prices can change; check your local purchase screen before paying. Referenced trademarks belong to their owners.

  1. GuardVault · App Store US
  2. Apple · Hidden album
  3. Apple · iCloud data security overview
  4. Apple · iCloud+ US plans and pricing
Our editorial approach

Choose with a method

Use a few disposable files to check importing, exporting and recovery before moving your originals.

How to choose an iPhone photo vault: 6 checks

Your private space starts here.

Start free with 3 vaults. Premium is optional.

Try the pattern